



International Panel of Parliamentarians for Freedom of Religion or Belief



Sentul Declaration for Peace Building and Freedom of Religion or Belief

Whereas freedom of thought, belief and religion are universal and absolute rights guaranteed by the constitution, and a number of international and regional treaties have been ratified by Indonesia and upheld by law;

Whereas hate speech poses a threat to democratic values, minority rights, affects electoral democracy, results in dangerous socio-political discourses, exacerbates societal and racial tensions, and incites discrimination, violence and hostility;

We, members of parliament and religious leaders from various regions in West Java, Indonesia are committed to:

- Promoting and strengthening the protection of freedom of religion or belief for all individuals in West Java through our parliamentary and professional roles, including through efforts to integrate such freedom into the representation, legislation and oversight processes in the West Java legislative body;
- Strengthening interfaith and institutional cooperation at various levels, including local, national and regional across Southeast Asia;
- Integrating peacebuilding perspectives and freedom of religion or belief into recess activities, public meetings and other socio-political activities to strengthen the role of politicians and religious preachers as ambassadors for peace.

The parliamentarians and religious leaders below support this Sentul Declaration in their individual capacities and not as representatives of governments, political parties or other institutions.





International Panel of Parliamentarians for Freedom of Religion or Belief



Signatories:

- 1. Afrizal A. Lana (DPRD Depok)
- 2. KH Nanang Iman (MUI)
- 3. Atma SE, MM (DPRD Kab Bogor)
- 4. Babai Suhaimi (DPRD Kota Depok & PKB)
- 5. Halim Yohanes (DPRD Bogor)
- 6. I Gede Reke Subawal (Kerapetan Indonesia Tanah Air)
- 7. Lubnah Aldjufri (KPPG Kota Bogor)
- 8. KH Lukmanul Hakim (Sekretaris IP-PCNU Kota Bogor)
- 9. Lusiana Nurissiyadah (DPRD Kota Bogor)
- 10. KH Maman Imanul Haq (DPR RI)
- 11. KH Mohammad Abdul Mujib (PP Assa'adah Depok)
- 12. Nurodin SH (DPRD Kab Bogor)
- 13. KH Raden Salamun (PP Assa'adah Depok)
- 14. Sahat Farida Barlian (PDI Perjuangan)
- 15. Tarmizi
- 16. Drs H. Tobaroni
- 17. Vanesa Zahra (KPPG Kota Bogor)
- 18. Putri Ayu Arisya (Anggota DPRD Kota Tangerang Selatan)
- 19. Veronica Wiwin Widarin (Anggota Kota Depok)
- 20. Tati Rahmawanti (Anggota DPRD Kota Depok)