Board Members


Charles Santiago, Malaysia 

Charles Santiago is a member of the Parliament of Malaysia for the Klang constituency in Selangor. He is a member of the Democratic Action Party (DAP) in the Pakatan Harapan opposition coalition. Santiago was first elected to Parliament in 2008, winning the seat of Klang from the governing Barisan Nasional coalition. Prior to his election, Santiago was an economist and worked for non-governmental organizations such as the Coalition Against Water Privatisation and Monitoring Sustainability of Globalisation Malaysia.


Kraisak Choonhavan, Thailand

Kraisak Choonhavan is a Thai politician and former member of parliament. He was elected Senator in 2001 and became the Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Senate prior to the 2006 Thai coup. In the Senate he was a leading member of a progressive group of 45 senators who opposed human right violations, corruption, and other abuses under the government of Thaksin Shinawatra.


Eva Kusuma Sundari, Indonesia

Eva Kusuma Sundari is a member of the House of Representatives of the Republic of Indonesia. First elected in 2004, Sundari represents the Indonesian Democratic Struggle Party (PDI-P). In Parliament, she is a member of Commission XI (2014-2019), which focuses on economics, finance, and banking. In addition to her work with APHR, she is a member of the International Task Force of the Global Organization of Parliamentarians Against Corruption. Before becoming a member of Parliament, Sundari was active in the women’s movement and NGOs.


U Shwe Maung, Myanmar

U Shwe Maung was a member of the Pyithu Hluttaw (People’s Assembly) in Myanmar representing Buthidaung Township, Rakhine State, from 2011 to 2016. During his time in Parliament, he was a member of the Reform and Modernization Assessment Committee. He has strong interest and expertise in issues of freedom of religion and interfaith dialogue.


Charles Chong, Singapore

Charles Chong is a member of the Parliament of Singapore from the governing People’s Action Party (PAP) and currently serves as the Parliament’s Deputy Speaker. Chong is an aircraft engineer by training. He was first elected to Parliament in 1988 and was re-elected seven times, most recently in 2015. Chong has served in several Government Parliamentary Committees including Manpower, National Development, Transport, Defence and Foreign Affairs, and Environment and Water Resources.


Mu Sochua, Cambodia

Mu Sochua is a member of the National Assembly of Cambodia, representing Battambang for the opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP). She has been in Parliament since 2008 and previously served as Cambodia’s Minister of Women’s Affairs from 1998 to 2004. In addition to her work in government, she has spent decades as a human rights advocate, particularly for marginalized groups including migrants, workers, and women. She helped draft and pass Cambodia’s Prevention of Domestic Violence Bill, and has also worked on campaigns to end the spread of HIV/AIDS, support female entrepreneurs, and develop communities for squatters.


Walden Bello, Philippines

Walden Bello is a Filipino author, academic, and political analyst. He a professor of sociology and public administration at the University of the Philippines Diliman. Bello previously served as a member of the Philippines House of Representatives from the political party Akbayan from 2009 to 2015. He resigned from Congress in March 2015 in protest over what he considered President Aquino’s budgetary mismanagement, handling of the Mamasapano anti-terrorist raid that derailed the peace process in the Southern Philippines, and failure to support the passage of the Freedom of Information Act.